International Agency for Research on Cancer



28 February 2013

2012 cancer incidence and mortality estimates for 25 cancers in Europe^[1]

There were an estimated 3.45 million new cases of cancer (excluding non-melanoma skin cancer) and 1.75 million deaths from cancer in Europe in 2012.

Incidence

The most common cancer sites were cancers of the female breast (464 000 cases), followed by colorectal (447 000), prostate (417 000) and lung (410 000). These four cancers together represent half of the overall burden of cancer in Europe.

Mortality

The most common causes of death from cancer were cancers of the lung (353 000 deaths), colorectal (215 000), breast (131 000) and stomach (107 000). In the European Union, the estimated numbers of new cases of cancer were approximately 1.4 million in males and 1.2 million in females, and about 707 000 men and 555 000 women died from cancer in the same year.

Priorities for action

These up-to-date estimates of the cancer burden in Europe alongside the description of the varying distribution of common cancers at both the regional and country level provide a basis for establishing priorities for cancer control actions in Europe.

Cancer registries critical for establishing cancer control priorities

The important role of cancer registries in disease surveillance and in planning and evaluating national cancer plans is becoming increasingly recognized, but needs to be further advocated.

The estimates and software tools for further analysis (EUCAN 2012) are available online as part of the European Cancer Observatory (ECO) (http://eco.iarc.fr).

More in the European Journal of Cancer paper.

^[1] The 40 countries in the four United Nations-defined areas of Europe (Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Ukraine, United Kingdom) and the European Union (EU-27)